



DEPARTMENT OVERVIEW

The Department of Computer Science at the University of Georgia was established in 1984 and has grown to include 27 faculty members, more than 175 enrolled graduate students and over 1065 undergraduate majors, and to serve thousands of non-major undergraduates. It offers the B.S., M.S. with thesis, and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science, and its graduates have gone on to prestigious positions in academia, industry, and at private and federal research labs. In addition, the department offers a graduate certificate in cybersecurity and an undergraduate certificate in applied data science.

NEW FACULTY

In the past three years, the department has hired 4 new tenure-track faculty members and will hire two more in this academic year. Recently recruited faculty include Dr. Yi Hong with expertise in medical imaging and computer vision, Dr. Jaewoo Lee in data mining and privacy, Dr. Kyu Lee in mobile and system security, and Dr. Shannon Quinn with expertise in biomedical imaging and scalable computing. In addition, the department has hired 5 new lecturers to enhance its teaching mission.

RESEARCH HIGHLIGHTS

- The department established the Institute for Cybersecurity and Privacy (ICSP) under the University-wide initiative of Georgia Informatics Institutes in 2017. It is being directed by Prof. Kang Li with Profs. Roberto Perdisci, Kyu Lee, and Jaewoo Lee as founding members. ICSP has been designated as an NSA/DHS National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Research (CAE-R).
- The annual research expenditure averaged over the last three years is \$1,750,000 with grants being awarded by NSF, NIH, DARPA, DHS, ONR, and the industry.
- Faculty in the department have secured more than \$1 million in new funding over the next few years with a significant component going toward cybersecurity research.
- Prof. Tianming Liu was recently recognized as a Distinguished Research Scientist by UGA. Two faculty, Profs. Tianming Liu and Prashant Doshi have been awarded the Creative Research Medal by UGA. Prof. Roberto Perdisci was awarded the Michael F. Adams Early Career Scholar Award.

DEGREE PROGRAM HIGHLIGHTS

- New Double Dawgs (dual degree) BS-MS program established. Students entering the BS program can continue onwards to also obtain an MS in an expected duration of 5 years.
- The department's BS program is accredited by ABET.
- 25 doctoral degrees and 49 MS degrees were awarded to graduate students in the last three years.
- Recent doctoral graduates have joined University of Texas at Arlington, University of North Carolina at Asheville, and Auburn University among others, as tenure-track faculty.

STUDENT ENROLLMENT AND GROWTH

- Graduate enrollment has grown by 38% in the last three years to include 179 students.
- Undergraduate enrollment has grown tremendously in the last three years by 81% to 1,065 majors.